About Us

a. Formation of the Vigilance wing of the Local Self Government Department.

The Vigilance wing of Local Self Government was constituted in 1980 vide G.O.(Ms)200/80/LAD dt 16.08.1980 with the creation of the post of Senior Town Planner (Vigilance), Deputy Secretary and Confidential Assistant.

Extension of building rules to Panchayat area was done before the formulation of Kerala Panchayat Building rules, Kerala Municipality Building Rules was extended on 6/06/2007. Later on 14.2.2011 Kerala Panchayat Building rules was extended to all Panchayats in the state. Owing to the rise of the unauthorised constructions in state, the wing was strengthened in 2013 vide G.O.(Ms) 268/2013/LSGD dt 27.07.2013 with the sanctioning of 16 additional posts. The post of Senior Town Planner (Vig) was upgraded as Chief Town Planner (Vig). The newly sanctioned posts in the wing include 3 Town Planners (Vigilance), 9 Deputy Town Planners (Vig), 1 Confidential Assistant and 2 Typists.

The Wing is functioning in accordance to the guidelines issued by Government vide G.O.(Ms) 2459/2013/LSGD dtd 03.10.2013 regarding the duties and responsible of the Vigilance Wing. The wing has a jurisdiction over the entire state of Kerala. In accordance to order G.O.(Ms) 2459/2013/LSGD dtd 03.10.2013, the Vigilance wing of Local Self Government Department is functioning under the Principal Secretary/ Secretary to Government of the Local Self Government Department, Kerala.

The petitions regarding unauthorised constructions are inspected and detailed report along with recommendations are forwarded to Government for approval. For the purpose and convenience of conducting site inspections by the Vigilance wing throughout the State, Government have issued a Circular No. 2344/RA3/2014/LSGD dt 18.01.2014, earmarking the districts of the state into 3 zones. Each zone is to be headed by a Town Planner.

The zones consists of the following districts, namely,

  • Zone 1- Trivandrum, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Kottayam, Idukki.
  • Zone 2- Alappuzha, Ernakulam, Trichur, Palakkad
  • Zone 3- Wayanad, Malappuram, Kozhikode, Kannur, Kasargod
b. Organisational Structure